//
you're reading...
Random

Blog Remake: Open Thread

As I mentioned earlier, I’ve been thinking lately about ways to improve this site. I began posting in August 2007 with three goals: To do something productive with my free time, to keep in touch with my family and friends, and to start interesting conversations. If you read the site or even if you’ve just happened by, I’d be grateful for your suggestions and comments! It’s been a lot of fun so far and I’d like to keep that going.Here are a few of my thoughts on where the site should be going:

  1. The content. Features like “Archispeak” and “Bad Movie of the Week” have been a great way to organize my thoughts and regularize the way I work on the site. Another great example is Andreas Kluth’s search for the greatest thinker. I’d love to develop more lines of inquiry, whether it’s about architecture, language, a Book of the Month, or something completely different.
  2. The audience. In addition to family and friends, there are other readers I would like to reach out to. If you’ve found something on this site interesting, why? Do you have a blog of your own, or know of some blog that I should link to or that is engaging in the same dialogue? (By the way, check out my blogroll at right, there are already some great folks there!)
  3. The name. “Design . Build . Learn . Repeat” has always seemed (to me) only partially effective; I like how it looks, but it doesn’t sound quite right or roll off the tongue properly. And yet I’d still like the new name to be meaningful in some way. I actually have one in mind, but I’d like to invite outside suggestions before I give it away.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Blog Remake: Open Thread

  1. I’m not claiming that this will be remotely helpful (and I think your blog title is fine), but the rolling-off-the-tongue issue may be a problem of fours:

    For some reason, we respond to threes. Holy Trinity; Brahma, Vishnu, Shiva; Veni, vidi, vici; ….

    People quote Hobbes saying that life is “nasty, brutish and short”. Actually, he said that it is “poor, solitary, nasty, brutish and short”. So our memory cuts out two to make three. In fact, I caught myself doing that when I tried to remember the top of this very page: I recalled “Design, Learn, Repeat” ….

    Posted by andreaskluth | February 12, 2009, 7:24 pm
  2. Thanks Andreas. You’re absolutely right, and that’s one reason why the name I have in mind is three words long. We’ll see…

    Posted by Vincent | February 15, 2009, 9:16 pm

Leave a Reply

